[Skip to content]

Menu
.

Open Market Review December 2017 

Request for information

1. Introduction

Broadband East Riding strives to provide the best broadband connectivity possible across its Programme Area. (East Riding of Yorkshire Council, covering areas such as Goole, Pocklington, Bridlington, Hornsea and Withernsea). The overarching aspiration of Broadband East Riding is to deliver superfast access to 96% of premises in the region by 2020.

2. Geographical scope

As described above, our Area encompasses the premises that are defined within the accompanying spreadsheet (OMR Response template will be released to providers once East Riding of Yorkshire Council have received the signed PMSA Standard Form Contractor Licence which can be found at the end of this page) which details the post codes and associated premises count. The postcode data has been sourced from the East Riding of Yorkshire Councils Local Land and Property Gazetteer dated June 2017. A map of this area is shown at the foot of this document and is also available in other formats upon request.

Progress to date

Our initial Local Broadband Plan was approved in September 2013, covering an Intervention Area of approximately 163,000 premises that were assessed as being outside the scope for normal commercial NGA investment through an open market review process. The phase 1 contract signed in September 2013 aims to deliver at least 90% superfast broadband coverage to the Programme Area by December 2015 and in line with the UK Government’s targets, we are seeking to substantially contribute to the Government objective of at least 95% superfast coverage nationally by the end of 2017 though our phase 2 contract signed in June 2015.

It is the intention of the East Riding of Yorkshire Council to utilise funding from various available sources, including funding potentially derived from a Rural Development Programme and savings from existing Broadband Delivery UK Programme details of these and any restrictions on their usage will be explained in our forthcoming proposed tender documentation. It is therefore the East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s intention to procure Next Generation Access solutions – those capable of achieving a minimum of 30 Mbps download speed - for the remaining area in scope for NGA deployment.

4. Purpose of this OMR

In preparation of this proposed procurement process, we are now commencing an Open Market Review (“OMR”) to establish existing and planned (next 3 years) commercial coverage of broadband services across the Broadband East Riding Area by all existing and any prospective, NGA broadband infrastructure providers.

This OMR is intended as a precursor to a formal public consultation document. The UK applies a best practice process that promotes the use of both an Open Market Review (“OMR”) and a Public Consultation, the latter being conducted in a manner consistent with the requirements of the Broadband Guidelines. We consider that early market engagement at this stage is an essential and extremely important part of our early market research. The results of the OMR will assist us with understanding the broadband infrastructure (Next Generation Access (NGA)) already in place and where there are plans for investment in such infrastructure in the coming three years and a significant step in the design of the intervention area to be targeted by the new contract.

Once we have defined these Intervention Areas from the OMR, we will be conducting a minimum one month State Aid public consultation on our proposed Intervention Areas. We propose to launch our ITT in the financial year 2017/18.

Your response required

We are sending this OMR to all recognised broadband infrastructure and internet providers in our area. In addition, we are publishing this OMR document on our website. We require responses by 17 January 2018 to the questions set out in the Annex. When responding, we would be grateful if you could confirm your organisation's name and address, as well as the name, position and contact details of the person responding on behalf of the organisation.

The OMR Response Template which will be released to providers once the East Riding of Yorkshire Council has received the signed PSMA Partners Standard Form Contractor Licence, is to be returned via email to broadband@eastriding.gov.ukmarked Broadband East Riding OMR 2017.

Please note that the data you provide in your response will be treated as commercially confidential to the East Riding of Yorkshire Council, albeit that it may be necessary to share some/all of your response data with our professional advisors and/or DCMS/BDUK, Ofcom, BIS State Aid Branch and the European Commission in the course of seeking State Aid. It should also be noted that it is a State Aid requirement to utilise this information to produce State Aid maps to define white, grey and black areas for basic and NGA broadband. These maps will be published as part of the Public Consultation process and will be utilised to define the intervention area. However, please note that these published maps will be assimilated utilising data from all relevant operators and will not be directly attributed to a single source.

If you have any questions about any of the above, please contact the Broadband East Riding Project Team, East Riding of Yorkshire Council at broadband@eastriding.gov.uk.

Annex

Please provide details and supporting evidence of any current or planned investment in broadband infrastructure (basic broadband and NGA broadband) in the East Riding of Yorkshire Council area. In the case of planned investment, we are particularly interested in plans for the coming three years (to 2020). Beyond completion of the attached spreadsheet template (or alternative format instead of the spreadsheet if you are not able to provide the information in the required template form), any information provided in response to this request should include but not be limited to:

  • Premises detail for basic broadband and NGA broadband showing the existing coverage and separately maps detailing the planned investment in the basic broadband and NGA infrastructure networks for at least the next three years;
  • Exact detail of premises passed or covered, including information on the number of premises passed (in the case of a fixed network) or covered and able to receive services (in the case of a wireless/satellite network);
  • Details of the technology and where these claim to be NGA, demonstrate how they meet the minimum standards as set-out in the BDUK Technology Guidelines.
  • Description of the services/ products currently offered and separately those to be offered within the next 3 years;
  • Installation and rental tariffs for those services/products clearly identifying whether they are inclusive or exclusive of VAT;
  • Upload and download speeds typically experienced by end users;
  • Appropriate indicators of quality of the service e.g. contention ratio or bandwidth allocation per end user;
  • Evidence to substantiate actual or planned coverage claims including business cases and evidence of available funding to enable plans to be fulfilled.
  • Details and timing of roll-out for future investment; and
  • Confirmation from an authorised signatory that all information provided is of suitable accuracy.

Please supplement with supporting evidence as you consider appropriate e.g. public websites.

Thank you,

East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Premises level template

NGA broadband infrastructure providers will be provided with PSMA data upon signing the Licence Contract from East Riding of Yorkshire Council for the sole purpose of establishing existing and planned (next 3 years) commercial coverage of broadband services across the East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s Area. The PSMA data provided details the postcodes and number of households for the East Riding should only be used for the purpose detailed above.

[ Zoom ]
Open Market Review December 2017 Map JPG